Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences School of Optometry
Worcester, MA · Official site
3.68 verified3.68 unverifiednot published checked, absentnot given not researchedWhat do these mean? ▾
- 3.68 Verified — official source
- Published by ASCO or OptomCAS, the bodies that run optometry admissions and report board results. Board pass rates, class GPA and OAT averages, deadlines and letter requirements come from here. Click any underlined value to open the exact document it came from and check it yourself.
- $31,746 Verified — the school’s own site
- Read directly off the school’s website, then either accepted automatically because the wording was unambiguous, or approved by hand after a person read the surrounding sentence. Also clickable to the source page. These can go stale if a school updates a page and we haven’t re-crawled it yet.
- Traditional Unverified estimate
- Compiled by a student in a personal spreadsheet. No citation, no source link, and possibly wrong or out of date. These are a starting point for your own research, not a fact. Confirm with the school before you make any decision based on one. Where an official figure exists it always replaces these — so an unverified value means nobody has found a published source yet.
- 31,746 Calculated
- Worked out from sourced figures rather than published as such. Year-1 direct cost is tuition plus mandatory fees, because no two schools break their costs up the same way and nothing else compares across them. The inputs are sourced; the arithmetic is ours.
- not published Checked, genuinely absent
- Someone opened the school’s own page and the figure is not there. This is a finding, not a gap — it means you can stop looking. Click it to open the page that was checked.
- not given Not yet researched
- Nobody has looked at this field for this school yet. Different from the one above: absence of research, not evidence of absence.
NBEO results — ASCO institutional report
| Report year | Candidates | Part I | Part II | Part III | Ultimate | US Part I | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024-2025 | 47 | 61.70% | 85.11% | 78.72% | 74.47% | 66.83% |
Class profile — 2025 entering class
Class size
59
Applicants
not given
Interviewed
not given
Average GPA
3.28
Average science GPA
not given
Average OAT (AA)
310
Read from the school’s own page, 2 mo ago.
Program
- Public / private
- not given
- Accreditation status
- Accredited (next ACOE site visit 2027)reviewed by hand
- Year established
- not given
Class profile
- Class size
- 59ASCO · 2025 entering class
- Average GPA
- 3.28ASCO · 2025 entering class
- Average science GPA
- not publishedASCO's entering-class profile reports cumulative GPA and OAT only — it does not collect science GPA — and the school does not publish one.
- Average OAT (AA)
- 310ASCO · 2025 entering class
- Profile year
- 2025 entering classASCO · 2025 entering class
Admissions
- Letters of recommendation
- 2 lettersOptomCAS
- Interview style
- not given
- Patient care hours required
- not given
- Application deadline
- 5/1/27OptomCAS
- Last OAT date accepted
- 6/1/27OptomCAS
- Supplemental application
- None listedOptomCAS
- Bachelor's required
- PreferredOptomCAS
- Other tests accepted
- GRE, MCAT and DAT are accepted.OptomCAS
Cost
- Year-1 direct cost
- 57310— DERIVED (56370 tuition + 940 comprehensive service fee). Excludes the 3800 year-1 equipment fee and the 175 orientation fee per the standing formula.reviewed by hand
- Tuition — in-state
- $56,370reviewed by hand
- Tuition — out-of-state
- 56370— private institution, single rate, no residency distinctionreviewed by hand
- Cost of attendance / yr
- not publishedAs a single total. MCPHS states that Student Financial Services calculates a COA per student. Published components for Worcester, fall and spring: housing 12800, food 5940, transportation 1564, books/materials/supplies/equipment 872, miscellaneous personal 1822.
- Fees
- 940 (recurring per year)Recurring per year (Comprehensive Service Fee, 470 billed each semester at 6+ credits). One-off: Orientation Fee 175 (first semester only), Graduation Fee 390 (final semester only). Program-specific equipment fees: 1900/semester in year 1 (3800) and 1850/semester in year 2 (3700). Health insurance 4364/year is waivable with documentation and excluded.reviewed by hand
- Average debt at graduation
- not publishedNo per-school figure exists. ASCO reports a national average of $209,280 for graduates with debt (2024-2025), and notes several schools report the figure as unavailable.
- Scholarships available
- not given
Boards & outcomes
- NBEO Part I — first-time
- 61.7%ASCO · 2024-2025
- NBEO Part II — first-time
- 85.1%ASCO · 2024-2025
- NBEO Part III — first-time
- 78.7%ASCO · 2024-2025
- NBEO ultimate pass rate
- 74.5%ASCO · 2024-2025
- Average NBEO pass rate
- 75.2%ASCO · 2024-2025
- Residency match rate
- not publishedORMatch publishes only aggregate statistics, not placement by school of graduation, and the school does not publish its own rate.
- Residency programs available
- not given
- Employment after graduation
- not given
Clinical training
- Clinic starts
- 2nd year, fallPrimary Care Clinic I (OPT 770C) sits in the Year II fall term. Inferred from the course sequence; the page does not state it in words.reviewed by hand
- Patient volume
- not given
- Specialty clinics offered
- not publishedPrimary and Specialty Care Optometry I and II appear in the curriculum, but no clinic sites are named.
- VA / hospital rotations
- not publishedYear IV has three externship rotation courses, but the sites are not named on this page.
Curriculum
- Problem-based learning
- not publishedNot described on the curriculum page.
- Research opportunities
- not publishedNo research program is described. The only research item in the curriculum is a 1-credit Research and Statistical Methods course in Year III.
- Dual degree options
- OD/MPHreviewed by hand
- Faculty-to-student ratio
- not publishedNot stated on the curriculum page.
Location & life
- Cost of living
- not given
- Housing availability
- not given
- Weather / climate
- not given
- Competitiveness vs collaboration
- not given
Your ratings
Sign in to rate this school and get a weighted score across every school you’re considering.